March 2015 CPM 2015/30



联合国 粮食及 农业组织 Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'alimentation et l'agriculture

Продовольственная и сельскохозяйственная организация Объединенных Наций Organización de las Naciones Unidas para la Alimentación y la Agricultura منظمة الأغذية والزراعة للأمم المتحدة

COMMISSION ON PHYTOSANITARY MEASURES

Tenth Session

Rome, 16-20 March 2015

Membership and potential replacements for CPM subsidiary bodies - Election of the members of the CPM Bureau

Agenda item 19

Prepared by the IPPC Secretariat

I. Election of the members of the CPM Bureau

1. In consultation with FAO Legal Office, the IPPC Secretariat proposes to elect Bureau members for those regions that no longer have a Bureau member and to elect these new Bureau members for the remainder of the terms of their predecessor. This has been the general practice of the Organization for many years and it is proposed for reasons of convenience as having a Bureau with officers holding different terms could create problems in the future, especially in regards to the rotation.

A. Near East Region

2. The IPPC Secretariat was notified of the sudden death of Mr Mohamed Refaat Rasmy Abdelhamid (Egypt), CPM Bureau Member representing the Near East region. Mr Abubaker Elgargoti (Libya), the CPM elected replacement member for the Near East region, has informed the Secretariat that he is not able to take on this role as Bureau member for the Near East. This now requires that the Near East Region elect a new CPM Bureau member for the remainder of Mr Mohamed Refaat Rasmy Abdelhamid's (Egypt) term which ends at CPM-11 (2016).

B. Southwest Pacific Region

3. The Secretariat has recently been informed of the resignation of the CPM Bureau member (who was also the CPM Vice-chairperson) from the Southwest Pacific region, Mr Peter Thomson (New Zealand). Ms Vanessa Findlay (Australia), the CPM elected replacement member for the Southwest Pacific region was contacted by the IPPC Secretariat and she informed the Secretariat that

2 CPM 2015/30

she was not able to take on this role as the Bureau member for the Southwest Pacific region and she resigned. This now requires that the Southwest Pacific region elect a new CPM Bureau member and CPM Vice-chairperson for the remainder of Mr Peter Thomson's (New Zealand) term which ends at CPM-11 (2016).

- 4. The Southwest Pacific region has now submitted Ms Lois Ransom (Australia) to be elected as both the CPM Bureau member for their region and CPM Vice-chairperson for the remainder of Mr Peter Thomson's (New Zealand) term which ends at CPM-11 (2016).
- 5. The current Rules of Procedure for the Bureau of the CPM and Guidelines for rotation of the CPM Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson and nomination of Bureau are available as annexes to the Rules of procedure of the CPM which are posted on the IPP¹. Current CPM Bureau members and vacant positions are presented in Table 1 (CPM Bureau members) and Table 2 (CPM Bureau replacement members).
- 6. All nominations should be submitted through the mechanism established by each region, where these have not been officially communicated to the IPPC Secretariat, nominations will only be accepted from the Chair of each of the respective FAO regional groups. The deadline for submission of nominations to the IPPC Secretariat (ippc@fao.org) is 10 March 2015. Nominations should be accompanied by the signed Statement of Commitment, available on the IPP².
- 7. The CPM is invited to:
 - *elect* a new CPM Bureau member for the Near East region for the remainder of Mr Mohamed Refaat Rasmy Abdelhamid's (Egypt) term which ends at CPM-11 (2016)
 - *elect* Ms Lois Ransom (Australia) as both the new CPM Bureau member for the Southwest Pacific region and CPM Vice-chairperson for the remainder of Mr Peter Thomson's (New Zealand) term which ends at CPM-11 (2016)

¹ See Annex I and II of the Rules of Procedure for the CPM: https://www.ippc.int/en/core-activities/governance/

² Please download the IPPC Statement of Commitment forms, posted at https://www.ippc.int/en/core-activities/governance/ippc-procedure-manual/

CPM 2015/30 3

Attachment 1

TABLE 1
Current CPM Bureau memberships (as of 2015-03-05).
Rows indicating vacant positions are shaded in grey.

Region	Country	Name	Nominated/ Re-nominated	Current term/duration	End of current term
Africa	Cote D'Ivoire	Mr Lucien KOUAME KONAN	CPM-2 (2012) CPM-9 (2014)	2nd Term/2 years	2016
Asia	Republic of Korea	Ms Kyu-Ock YIM	CPM-5 (2010) CPM-7 (2012) CPM-9 (2014)	3rd term / 2 years	2016
Europe	Netherlands	Mr Cornelis Antonius Maria VAN ALPHEN	CPM-9 (2014)	1st term / 2 years	2016
Latin America and Caribbean	Argentina	Mr Diego QUIROGA	CPM-9 (2014)	1st term / 2 years	2016
Near East		VACANT	Proposed at CPM- 10 (2015) to replace Mr Mohamed Refaat Rasmy Abdelhamid (Egypt)	Replacement term	2016
North America	USA	Mr John GREIFER	CPM-5 (2010) CPM-7 (2012) CPM-9 (2014)	3rd term / 2 years	2016
Southwest Pacific	Australia	Ms Lois RANSOM	Proposed at CPM- 10 (2015) to replace Mr Peter Thomson (New Zealand)	Replacement term	2016

4 CPM 2015/30

TABLE 2
Current CPM Bureau replacement memberships (as of 2015-03-05)

Rows indicating vacant positions are shaded in grey.

Region	Country	Name	Nominated/ Re-nominated	Current term/duration	End of current term
Africa	Eritrea	Mr Mesghena TEKLEAB	CPM-9 (2014)	1st term/ 2 years	2016
Asia	Japan	Mr Masato FUKUSHIMA	CPM-9 (2014)	1st term/ 2 years	2016
Europe	Finland	Mr Ralf LOPIAN	CPM-9 (2014)	1st term/ 2 years	2016
Latin America and Caribbean	Mexico	Mr Francisco Javier TRUJILLO ARRIOGA	CPM-9 (2014)	1st term/ 2 years	2016
Near East		VACANT			
North America	Canada	Mr Gregory WOLFF	CPM-9 (2014)	1st term/ 2 years	2016
Southwest Pacific		VACANT			