

联合国 粮食及 农业组织

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'alimentation et l'agriculture Продовольственная и сельскохозяйственная организация Объединенных Наций Organización de las Naciones Unidas para la Alimentación y la Agricultura منظمة الأغذية والزراعة للأمم المتحدة

COMMISSION ON PHYTOSANITARY MEASURES

Eleventh Session Rome, 4-8 April 2016 CPM Bureau members and potential replacement members Agenda item 15.1 Prepared by the IPPC Secretariat ¹

- 1. The CPM-8 (2013) amended the CPM Rules of Procedure, please refer to the link for further $details^2$
- 2. CPM-11 (2016) must elect a new CPM Bureau because the two-year term of the current Chair and most of the other Bureau members will finish at the end of the CPM-11 meeting. The new CPM Bureau shall consist of a Chairperson, a Vice-Chairperson and any additional members in such a way that all FAO regions are represented in the Bureau. The term of the new Bureau will start immediately after CPM-11 and will end at the conclusion of CPM-13 in 2018.
- 3. Table 1 shows the names of the current CPM Bureau and FAO regions, which they represent, along with the length of their terms.
- 4. Rule II of the CPM Rules of Procedure makes clear that a person can only be elected to the Bureau if he/she is present at the session of the CPM where the election takes place. In addition, the person must have agreement from his/her head of delegation to be elected.

¹ A revision of this document was prepared in English on 28/01/16 as the name of the replacement member for Europe was corrected.

² https://www.ippc.int/en/publications/80395/

- 5. The elections will take place in separate stages, as the Chairperson and the Vice-Chairperson will be elected first and then the remainder of the CPM Bureau will be elected from those FAO regions not represented by the Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson.
- 6. According to Rule 4 of the Rules of Procedure for the CPM Bureau (Replacement of members), CPM- 11 (2016) also needs to elect replacement members for the Bureau and each FAO region should be prepared to nominate such replacements at the start of the first plenary session, so that the elections can be completed during CPM-11 (2016). Table 2 shows the name of the current CPM Bureau Replacement members.
- 7. All nominations should be submitted by each region through the mechanism established for each region or through the Chair of the FAO regional group. The deadline for submission of nominations to the IPPC Secretariat (ippc@fao.org) is 22 February 2016. Nominations should be accompanied by the signed Statement of Commitment, available on the IPP³.
- 8. The CPM is invited to:
 - 1) *elect* the Chairperson for the CPM Bureau.
 - 2) *elect* the Vice-Chairperson for the CPM Bureau.
 - 3) *elect* members for the CPM Bureau from FAO regions not represented by the Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson.
 - 4) *elect* replacements for members of the CPM Bureau.

-

³ https://www.ippc.int/en/core-activities/governance/ippc-procedure-manual/

Table 1 - Current membership of the Bureau of the CPM (following CPM-10 decisions)

Region	Country	Name	Nominated/ Re-nominated	Current term/duration	End of current term
Africa	Cote D'Ivoire	Mr Lucien KOUAME KONAN	CPM-7 (2012) CPM-9 (2014)	2nd Term/2 years	2016
Asia (Chairperson)	Republic of Korea	Ms Kyu-Ock YIM	CPM-5 (2010) CPM-7 (2012) CPM-9 (2014)	3rd term / 2 years	2016
Europe	Netherlan ds	Mr Cornelis Antonius Maria VAN ALPHEN	CPM-9 (2014)	1st term / 2 years	2016
Latin America and Caribbean	Argentina	Mr Diego QUIROGA	CPM-9 (2014)	1st term / 2 years	2016
Near East	Sudan	Mr Khidir Gibril MUSA EDRES	CPM-10 (2015)	Replacement term / 2 years	2016
North America	USA	Mr John GREIFER	CPM-5 (2010) CPM-7 (2012) CPM-9 (2014)	3rd term / 2 years	2016
Southwest Pacific (Vice- Chairperson)	Australia	Ms Lois RANSOM	CPM-10 (2015)	Replacement term / 1 year	2016

Current replacements of the Bureau of the CPM (following CPM-10 decisions)

Region	Country	Name	Nominated/	Current	End of current
			Renominated	term/duration	term
Africa	Eritrea	Mr Mesghena	CPM-9 (2014)	1st term/ 2	2016
		TEKLEAB		years	
Asia	Japan	Mr Masato	CPM-9 (2014)	1st term/ 2	2016
		FUKUSHIMA		years	
Europe	France	Ms	CPM-10	1st term/ 2	2017
		Emmanuelle	(2015)	years	
		SOUBEYRAN			
Latin America	Mexico	Mr Francisco	CPM-9 (2014)	1st term/ 2	2016
and Caribbean		Javier		years	
		TRUJILLO			
		ARRIOGA			
Near East		VACANT			
North	Canada	Mr Gregory	CPM-9 (2014)	1st term/ 2	2016
America		WOLFF		years	
Southwest	Australia	Mr Kim	CPM-10	1st term/ 2	2016
Pacific		RITMAN	(2015)	years	