March 2007



منظمة الأغذية والزراعة للأمم المتحدة



Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations

Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'alimentation et l'agriculture Organización de las Naciones Unidas para la Agricultura y la Alimentación

COMMISSION ON PHYTOSANITARY MEASURES

Session Session

Rome, 26 - 30 March 2007

Membership and potential replacements for the Standards Committee and Subsidiary Body on Dispute Settlement, and the core group of the Informal Working Group on Strategic Planning and Technical Assistance

Agenda Item 15 of the Provisional Agenda

1. The membership and potential replacements for the Standards Committee and Subsidiary Body on Dispute Settlement, and the core group of the Informal Working Group on Strategic Planning and Technical Assistance are attached.

Annex 1

STANDARDS COMMITTEE: MEMBERSHIP AND POTENTIAL REPLACEMENTS

A-Standards Committee Membership

FAO region	Country	Name	Nominated	Current term / Duration	End of current term
Africa	Nigeria	Mr Gabriel Olayiwola ADEJARE	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
	South Africa	Mr Michael HOLTZHAUSEN	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
	Uganda	Mr Robert KARYEIJA	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
	Zambia	Mr Arundel SAKALA	CPM-1 (2006)	acting as replacement	2009
Asia	China	Mr Fuxiang WANG	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
	India	Mr Prabhakar CHANDURKAR	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
	Japan	Mr Motoi SAKAMURA	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
	Malaysia	Mr Mazlan SAADON	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
Europe	European Commission	Mr Marc VEREECKE	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
	Germany	Mr Jens-Georg UNGER	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
	Israel	Mr David OPATOWSKI	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
	Latvia	Mr Ringolds ARNITIS	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
Latin	Argentina	Mr Diego QUIROGA	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
America and Caribbean	Brazil	Mr Odilson RIBEIRO E SILVA	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
	Costa Rica	Ms Magda GONZALEZ	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
	Uruguay	Ms Beatriz MELCHO	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2010
Near East	Jordan	Mr Mohammad KATBEH-BADER	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
	Sudan	Mr Khidir GIBRIL MUSA	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
	Syria	Mr Mohammad JAMAL HAJJAR	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2010
	Yemen	Mr Abdullah AL-SAYANI	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
North America	Canada	Mr Gregory WOLFF	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
	USA	Ms Julie ALIAGA	CPM-1 (2006)	acting as replacement	2009
Southwest	Australia	Mr David PORRITT	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
Pacific	New Zealand	Mr John HEDLEY	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
	Tonga	Mr Sione FOLIAKI	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009

Annex 1 (cont.)

B- Standards Committee Potential Replacements

FAO region	Order	Country	Name	Nominated	Current term / Duration	End of current term
Africa	1	Senegal	Mr Mame Ndene LO	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
	2	Morocco	Mr Lahcen ABAHA	CPM-2 (2007)	1st term / 3 years	2010
Asia	1	Indonesia	Mr Dwi PUTRA SETIAWAN	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
	2	Thailand	Mr Udorn UNAHAWUTTI	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
Europe	1	Denmark	Mr Ebbe NORDBO	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
	2	Netherlands	Mr Bram DE HOOP	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
Latin America and Caribbean	1	Guatemala	Mr Jaime SOSA LEMMUS	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
	2	Jamaica	Ms Shelia HARVEY	CPM-2 (2007)	1st term / 3 years	2010
Near East	1	Turkey	Mr Birol AKBAS	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
	2	Egypt	Mr Safwat AL-HADAD	CPM-2 (2007)	1st term / 3 years	2010
North America	To replace Canada	Canada	Mr Steve CÔTÉ	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
	To replace USA	USA	Mr Narcy KLAG	CPM-2 (2007)	1st term / 3 years	2010
Southwest Pacific	1	New Zealand	Ms Susan COOPER	CPM-2 (2007)	1st term / 3 years	2010
	2	Fiji	Mr Hiagi FORAETE	CPM-2 (2007)	1st term / 3 years	2010

SUBSIDIARY BODY ON DISPUTE SETTLEMENT: MEMBERSHIP AND POTENTIAL REPLACEMENTS

A-Subsidiary Body on Dispute Settlement Membership

FAO region	Country	Name	Nominated	Current term / Duration	End of current term
Africa	Algeria	Mr Ali MOUMEN	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 2 years	2008
Asia	Korea, Republic of	Mr Young-Chul JEONG	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 2 years	2008
Europe	Netherlands	Ms Mennie GERRITSEN	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 2 years	2008
Latin America and Caribbean	Ecuador	Mr Carlos NIETO CABRERA	CPM-2 (2007)	1st term / 2 years	2009
Near East	Jordan	Mr Mohammad KATBEH-BADER	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 2 years	2008
North America	USA	Mr John GREIFER	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 2 years	2008
Southwest Pacific	New Zealand	Mr John HEDLEY	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 2 years	2008

B-Subsidiary Body on Dispute Settlement Potential Replacements

FAO region	Country	Name	Nominated	Current term / Duration	End of current term
Africa	Cote d'Ivoire	Mr Konan Lucien KOUAME	CPM-2 (2007)	1st term / 2 years	2009
Asia	China	Ms Xiaoling WU	CPM-2 (2007)	1st term / 2 years	2009
Europe	Nomination to be put forward at CPM-3				
Latin America and Caribbean	Colombia	Mr Jaime CÁRDENAS	CPM-2 (2007)	1st term / 2 years	2009
Near East	Libya	Mr Bashir OTMAN GSHERA	CPM-2 (2007)	1st term / 2 years	2009
North America	USA	Ms Mary Lisa MADELL	CPM-2 (2007)	1st term / 2 years	2009
Southwest Pacific	Australia	Mr Rob SCHWARTZ	CPM-2 (2007)	1st term / 2 years	2009

INFORMAL WORKING GROUP ON STRATEGIC PLANNING AND TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE WORKING GROUP MEMBERSHIP

FAO region	Country	Name	Nominated
Africa	South Africa	Ms Alice BAXTER	CPM-2 (2007)
Asia	Philippines	Mr Larry LACSON	CPM-2 (2007)
Europe	Sweden	Mr Göran KROEKER	CPM-2 (2007)
Latin America and Caribbean	Trinidad and Tobago	Ms Lilory McCOMIE	CPM-2 (2007)
Near East	Lebanon	Mr Charles ZARZOUR	CPM-2 (2007)
North America	USA	Mr Richard DUNKLE	CPM-2 (2007)
Southwest Pacific	Samoa	Mr Kirifi PUONO	CPM-2 (2007)