

CPM 2023/30 Agenda item: 19.1

COMMISSION ON PHYTOSANITARY MEASURES SEVENTEENTH SESSION CPM BUREAU MEMBERS AND POTENTIAL REPLACEMENTS MEMBERS

AGENDA ITEM 19.1

(Prepared by the IPPC Secretariat)

- [1] The Commission on Phytosanitary Measures (CPM) established the Rules of Procedure for the CPM Bureau (respectively, Annex 1 & 2 to the CPM Rules of Procedure¹). Following the Guidelines for Rotation of the CPM Chairperson and Vice-chairperson (that were adopted by CPM-8 (2013)²) the next Chairperson should be nominated from the FAO North America region and the next Vice-Chairperson should be nominated from the FAO Near East, region.
- [2] CPM-17 (2023) must elect a new CPM Bureau because the two-year term of the current Chairperson and Bureau members will finish at the end of the CPM-17 (2023) meeting. The new CPM Bureau shall consist of a Chairperson, a Vice-Chairperson and any additional members in such a way that all FAO regions are represented in the Bureau. The term of the new Bureau will start immediately after CPM-17 (2023) and will end at the conclusion of CPM-19 (2025).
- [3] Annex 1A shows the names of the current CPM Bureau and FAO regions, which they represent, along with the length of their terms.
- [4] Rule II of the CPM Rules of Procedure makes clear that a person can only be elected to the Bureau if he/she is present at the session of the CPM where the election takes place. In addition, the person must have agreement from his/her head of delegation to be elected.
- [5] The elections will take place in separate stages, as the Chairperson and the Vice-Chairperson will be elected first and then the remainder of the CPM Bureau will be elected from those FAO regions not represented by the Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson.
- [6] According to Rule 4 of the Rules of Procedure for the CPM Bureau (Replacement of members), CPM-17 (2023) also needs to elect replacement members for the Bureau and each FAO region should be prepared to nominate such replacements at the start of the first plenary session, so that the elections can be completed during CPM-17 (2023). Annex 1B shows the names of the current CPM Bureau Replacement members.
- [7] All nominations should be submitted by each region through the mechanism established for each region or through the Chair of the FAO regional group. The deadline for submission of nominations to the IPPC Secretariat (ippc@fao.org) is **03 March 2023**. A signed Statement of Commitment, available on the IPP, should accompany nominations³.
- [8] The CPM is invited to:
 - (1) *Elect* the Chairperson for the CPM Bureau.
 - (2) *Elect* the Vice-Chairperson for the CPM Bureau.

¹ RofP of the CPM, Annex 1 & 2: https://www.ippc.int/en/publications/80395/

² Guidelines for Rotation (CPM-8 report Attachment II to Appendix 6 of the, page 50): https://assets.ippc.int/static/media/files/publications/2014/03/04/final_report_en_2014-03-04.pdf

³ Statement of Commitment: https://www.ippc.int/en/core-activities/governance/ippc-procedure-manual/

- (3) *Elect* members for the CPM Bureau from FAO regions not represented by the Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson.
- (4) *Elect* replacements for members of the CPM Bureau.

Γ

Region	Country	Name	Nominated / Renominated	Current term / Duration	End of term
Africa <u>(Chairperson)</u>	Cote D'Ivoire	Mr Lucien KOUAMÉ KONAN	CPM-7 (2012) CPM-9 (2014) CPM-11(2016) CPM-13 (2018) CPM-15 (2021)	5 th Term/2 years	2023
Asia	China	Mr Fuxiang WANG	CPM-13 (2018) CPM-15 (2021)	2 nd term/ 2 years	2023
Europe	UK	Mr Sam BISHOP	CPM-12 (2017) CPM-13 (2018) CPM-15 (2021)	2 nd term/ 2 years (Replacement of Ms Marica Gatt)	2023
Latin America and Caribbean	Argentina	Mr Diego QUIROGA	CPM-11 (2016) CPM-13 (2018) CPM-15 (2021)	2 nd term / 2 years (Replacement member for Mr Francisco Javier TRUJILLO ARRIAGA)	2023
Near East	Egypt	Mr Ahmed Kamal ELATTAR	CPM-15 (2021)	1 st term / 2 years	2023
North America <u>(Vice-</u> <u>Chairperson)</u>	USA	Mr John GREIFER	CPM-5 (2010) CPM-7(2012) CPM-9(2014) CPM-11(2016) CPM-15 (2021)	5 th term/ 2 years	2023
Southwest Pacific	New Zealand	Mr Peter THOMSON	CPM-9 (2014) CPM-15 (2021)	2 nd term/ 2 years	2023

Annex 1A - Current CPM Bureau Membership (post CPM-15)

Annex 1B- Current CPM Bureau Replacements (post CPM-15)

Shaded rows indicate members whose term ends in 2022 or the post is vacant

Region	Country	Name	Nominated/ Renominated	Current term/duration	End of current term
Africa	1 South Africa	Mr Kgabo MATLALA	CPM-13 (2018) CPM-15 (2021)	2 nd term/ 2 years	2023
	2	VACANT			
Asia	1	VACANT			
	2	VACANT			
Europe	1				
	2 Netherlands	Mr Marco TRAA	CPM-15 (2021)	1 st term/ 2 years	2023
Latin America and Caribbean	1	VACANT			
	2 Belize	Mr Francisco GUTIÉRREZ	CPM-13 (2018) CPM-15 (2021)	2 nd term/ 2 years	2023
Near East	1 Tunisia	Mr Lahbib BEN JAMÂA	CPM-15 (2021)	1 st term/ 2 years	2023
	2 Libya	Mr Salem Abdulkader HAROUN	CPM-15 (2021)	1 st term/ 2 years	2023
North America	1 Canada	Mr Gregory WOLFF	CPM-15 (2021)	1 st term/ 2 years	2023
	2	VACANT			
Southwest Pacific	1 Australia	Ms Gabrielle Vivian SMITH	CPM-15 (2021)	1 st term/ 2 years	2023
	2	VACANT			