

International Plant Protection Convention

CPM Bureau members and potential replacements members

CPM 2024/38 Agenda item: 22.1

## **COMMISSION ON PHYTOSANITARY MEASURES**

#### EIGHTEENTH SESSION

#### CPM BUREAU MEMBERS AND POTENTIAL REPLACEMENTS MEMBERS

## AGENDA ITEM 22.1

(Prepared by the IPPC Secretariat)

- [1] The Commission on Phytosanitary Measures (CPM) established the Rules of Procedure for the Bureau of the Commission on Phytosanitary Measures and Guidelines for Rotation of the CPM Chairperson and Vice-chairperson (respectively, Annex 1 & 2 to the CPM Rules of Procedure<sup>1</sup>).
- [2] Table 1 shows the names of the current CPM Bureau and FAO regions, which they represent, along with the length of their terms.
- Rule II of the CPM Rules of Procedure makes clear that a person can only be elected to the Bureau if he/she is present at the session of the CPM where the election takes place. In addition, the person must have agreement from his/her head of delegation to be elected.
- [4] According to Rule 4 of the Rules of Procedure for the CPM Bureau (Replacement of members), CPM-18 (2024) also needs to note and elect replacement member(s) for the Asia (2), Europe (1), North America (1) and Southwest Pacific (1). Table 2 shows the names of the current CPM Bureau Replacement members.
- All nominations should be submitted by each region through the mechanism established for each region or through the Chair of the FAO regional group. The deadline for submission of nominations to the IPPC Secretariat (<a href="mailto:ippc@fao.org">ippc@fao.org</a>) is 15 March 2024. Nominations should be accompanied by a signed Statement of Commitment, available on the IPP<sup>2</sup>.
- [6] The CPM is invited to:
  - (1) confirm the CPM Bureau member from the Near East region.
  - (2) *note* the current membership of the CPM Bureau.
  - (3) *elect* CPM Bureau replacement members from the European region, Asia, North America and Southwest Pacific.
  - (4) *note* the current replacement for members of the CPM Bureau.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> RofP of the CPM, Annex 1 & 2: <a href="https://www.ippc.int/en/publications/80395/">https://www.ippc.int/en/publications/80395/</a>

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Statement of Commitment: <a href="https://www.ippc.int/en/core-activities/governance/ippc-procedure-manual/">https://www.ippc.int/en/core-activities/governance/ippc-procedure-manual/</a>

Annex 1A - Current CPM Bureau Membership (post CPM-17)

FAO region	Country	Name	Nominated / Renominated	Current term / Duration	End of term
Africa	South Africa	Mr Jan Hendrik VENTER	CPM-17 (2023)	1 <sup>ST</sup> term / 2 years	2025
Asia	Japan	Mr. Mamoru MATSUI	CPM-17 (2023)	1 <sup>ST</sup> term / 2 years	2025
Europe	UK	Mr Sam BISHOP	CPM-17 (2023)	1 <sup>st</sup> term / 2 years	2025
Latin America and Caribbean	Argentina	Mr Diego QUIROGA	CPM-17 (2023)	1 <sup>st</sup> term / 2 years	2025
Near East (Vice- Chairperson)	Morocco	Mr Barik Dris	CPM-18 (2024)	1 <sup>st</sup> term / 2 years	2026
North America (Chairperson)	Canada	Greg Wolff	CPM-13 (2018) CPM-17 (2023)	2 <sup>nd</sup> term/ 2 years	2025
Southwest Pacific	Australia	Ms Gabrielle Vivian SMITH	CPM-17 (2023)	1st term/ 2 years	2025

# Annex 1B- Current CPM Bureau Replacements (post CPM-15)

Shaded rows indicate members whose term ends in 2024 or the post is vacant

Region	Country	Name	Nominated /	Current term/duration	End of current term
Africa	Democratic Republic     of the Congo	Mr. Mamba Mamba DAMAS	CPM-17 (2023)	1st term/ 2 years	2025
	2 Benin	Mr. Eric ADOSSOU	CPM-17 (2023)	1st term/ 2 years	2025
Asia	1	VACANT			
	2	VACANT			
Europe	1 Netherlands	Mr Marco TRAA	CPM-15 (2021) CPM-17 (2023)	2 <sup>nd</sup> term/ 2 years	2025
	2 Italy	Ms Mariangela CIAMPITTI	CPM-16 (2022)	1 <sup>st</sup> term/ 2 years	2024
Latin America and Caribbean	1 Ecuador	Mr. Larry Rivera	CPM-17 (2023)	1 <sup>st</sup> term/ 2 years	2025
	2 Belize	Mr. Francisco Gutierrez	CPM-17 (2023)	1 <sup>st</sup> term/ 2 years	2025
Near East	1 Syria	Mr Eyad MOHAMED	CPM-17 (2023)	1 <sup>st</sup> term/ 2 years	2025
	2 Kingdom Saudi Arabia	Mr. Aliane Youssef YOUSSEF	CPM-18 (2024)	1 <sup>st</sup> term/ 2 years	2026
North America	1 USA	Mr John Greifer	CPM-17 (2023)	1 <sup>st</sup> term/ 2 years	2025
	2	VACANT			
Southwest Pacific	1 New Zealand	Mr Peter THOMSON	CPM-17 (2023)	1 <sup>st</sup> term/ 2 years	2025
	2	VACANT			