International Plant Protection Convention *IC membership*

CPM 2024/40_Rev1 Agenda item:22.3

COMMISSION ON PHYTOSANITARY MEASURES

EIGHTEENTH SESSION

IMPLEMENTATION AND CAPACITY DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE (IC) MEMBERSHIP

AGENDA ITEM 22.3

(Prepared by the IPPC Secretariat)

Background

- [1] CPM-12 (2017) established the Implementation and Capacity Development Committee (IC) to assist the CPM in addressing implementation and capacity development issues, to provide overall strategies and to oversee some of the work in this area.
- Based on the IC Terms of reference and Rules of procedure¹ (TOR and ROP), the IC is composed of 14 members with relevant skills and experience in implementation of phytosanitary-related instruments and, or capacity development, as follows:
 - Seven members are representatives from each of the seven FAO regions.
 - Five members are experts in subjects relevant to the work of the IC.
 - Two other members, one is a representative from the regional plant protection organizations (RPPOs) and one is from the Standards Committee (SC).

2023 Call for IC members

- [3] The 2023 call² was opened from 19 October 2023, to 12 January, 2024, for nominations of an IC regional representative and a potential replacement member for Europe, as well as IC regional replacement members for Asia and Southwest Pacific regions.
- [4] For IC replacements for regional representatives, a maximum of two replacements may be nominated by each region and when a region nominates two, it should indicate the order in which they would serve as replacements. Nominations should be submitted by the national IPPC Official Contact Points (OCP) or regional plant protection organizations (RPPOs) OCPs to the IPPC Secretariat.
- [5] All the regional nominations received were submitted to the region for selection through the CPM Bureau member.

¹ IC TOR and ROP: https://www.ippc.int/en/publications/85672/

² Call for IC members: https://www.ippc.int/en/calls/call-for-members-and-replacement-members-of-the-implementation-and-capacity-development-committee-ic-europe-asia-and-pacific/

CPM 2024/40_Rev1 IC Membership

Election of the IC Chairperson

[6] In accordance with IC TOR and ROP, the chairperson and vice-chairperson of the IC are elected by its members and serve for the remainder of their term with the possibility of re-election.

- [7] A call for IC chairperson and vice-chairperson was opened from 18 to 25 April, 2023, and the IPPC secretariat presented nominations received during the May IC meeting.
- [8] The IC re-elected Dominique PELLETIER (Canada) as the IC chairperson and elected Thorwald GEUZE (Kingdom of the Netherlands) as IC vice-chairperson for 2023–2026.

Update on IC Membership

- [9] According to the nomination procedure, the Europe region nominated Ringolds ARNITIS (Latvia) for a second IC term (2024-2027) and nominated Matthew EVERATT (United Kingdom) and Stavroula IOANNIDOU (Greece) respectively, as first and second replacements.
- [10] No nomination has been received from the Asia and Southwest Pacific regions for IC regional replacement members.
- [11] Following the resignation of Lalith Bandula KUMARASINGHE (New Zealand) as IC expert member, the secretariat implemented the IC expert replacement procedure. In accordance with the IC TOR and ROP, the CPM Bureau was invited to select a replacement member from the pool of IC replacement experts. The CPM Bureau selected Elizabeth MCCRUDDEN (Australia) to be IC expert member until May 2026.
- [12] Moreover, CPM-17 (2023) confirmed the IC membership and most of IC members have started or renewed their terms in May 2023. The rest of the committee membership remains unchanged.
- [13] The updated IC membership is presented in Appendix 1.

Acknowledgement of formers IC members

[14] Some IC members completed their terms on the committee in May 2023. The entire IPPC Community is invited to thank them for their invaluable contribution to the advancement of the work of the IC in particular and to implementation of the IPPC in general.

Recommendations

- [15] The CPM is invited to:
 - (1) confirm the Implementation and Capacity Development Committee members, as well as the replacement members as presented in Appendix 1.
 - (2) encourage Asia and Southwest Pacific to nominate IC regional replacement members for their respective regions.
 - (3) *acknowledge* the contribution of the following former members of the Implementation and Capacity Development Committee:
 - Christopher DALE (Australia)
 - Magda GONZALEZ ARROYO (Costa Rica)
 - Nilesh Ami CHAND (Fiji)
 - Ruth AREVALO MACIAS (Chile)
 - Stephanie BLOEM (United States of America).

CPM 2024/40_Rev1 IC Membership

Appendix 1: Membership and replacement members of the implementation and capacity development committee (IC)

Table 1: IC Members

Region/ Role	Country	Name	Terms / Duration
Africa Regional representative	COTE D'IVOIRE	Lucien KOUAMÉ KONAN	1 st term/ 3 years 2023 -2026
Asia Regional representative	CHINA	Xiaoliang WANG	1 st term/ 3 years 2023 -2026
Europe Regional representative	LATVIA	Ringolds ARNITIS	2 nd term/ 3 years 2024-2027
Latin America and Caribbean Regional representative	ARGENTINA	Ezequiel FERRO	1 st term/ 3 years 2023 -2026
Near East Regional representative	QATAR	Ahmed M. Abdellah ABDELMOTTALEB	2 nd term/ 3 years 2023-2026
North America Regional representative	CANADA	Dominique PELLETIER	3 rd term/ 3 years 2023 -2026
Southwest Pacific Regional representative	COOK ISLANDS	Ngatoko TA NGATOKO	2 nd term/ 3 years 2023-2026
Expert	BELIZE	Francisco Adrian GUTIERREZ	3 rd term / 3 years 2023- 2026
Expert	REPUBLIC OF KOREA	Kyu-Ock YIM	2 nd term / 3 years 2023- 2026
Expert	KENYA	Faith NDUNGE	3 rd term / 3 years 2023- 2026
Expert	KINGDOM OF THE NETHERLANDS	Thorwald GEUZE	2 nd term / 3 years 2023- 2026
Expert	AUSTRALIA	Elizabeth MCCRUDDEN	1 st term / 2 years 2024- 2026 (Replacement)

CPM 2024/40_Rev1 IC Membership

Region/ Role	Country	Name	Terms / Duration
Representative from the SC ³	CHILE	Álvaro SEPÚLVEDA LUQUE	2 nd term 2021-2024
Representative from the TC- RPPOs ⁴	COSAVE	Melisa Graciela NEDILSKYJ	1 st term 2023 -2026

Table 2: IC replacement members

Region/ Role	Country	Name	Current term / Duration
Africa	Zambia (1)	Kambombi MWEENE	1 st term/ 3 years 2023-2026
	Sudan (2)	Aaheed ABD ELHAMEED SIDDIG	1 st term/ 3 years 2023-2026
Asia		VACANT	
Europe	United Kingdom (1)	Matthew EVERATT	2 nd term/ 3 years 2024-2027
	Greece (2)	Stavroula IOANNIDOU	2 nd term/ 3 years 2024-2027
Latin America and Caribbean	Brazil	Alan Luiz RIZZOLI	1 st term / 3 years 2023-2026
Near East	Egypt (1)	Islam Farahat Abdel-Aziz ABOELELA	1 st term/ 3 years 2021-2024
	Syria (2)	Salman MEHREZ MEHREZ	1 st term/ 3 years 2023-2026
North America	United States of America	Wendolyn J. BELTZ	3 rd term/ 3 years 2023-2026
Southwest Pacific		VACANT	
Expert	Thailand	Ravinder Kumar KHETARPAL	1 st term / 3 years 2023- 2026

³ Named Representative may change from time to time as determined by the SC

⁴ Named Representative may change from time to time as determined by the TC-RPPO