

agriculture

de las

Unidas

para la

Naciones

Agricultura

y la Alimentación

Organización

H.

# INTERIM COMMISSION ON PHYTOSANITARY MEASURES

and

of

the

Nations

# **Seventh Session**

# Rome, 4 – 8 April 2005

**Election of Officers for the ICPM and Membership of Subsidiary Bodies** 

# Agenda Item 14 of the Provisional Agenda

#### I. Bureau of the ICPM

The Rules of Procedure of the ICPM (Rule II) requires the election of a Bureau consisting 1. of a Chairperson and not more than two Vice-Chair persons at the end of the regular session of the ICPM to hold office for a term of two years.

- 2. Under this rule the next elections will be held at the end of the regular session in 2005.
- 3. The current composition of the bureau is given in Annex I.
- 4. The ICPM is invited to *elect* the Bureau for the term 2005-2007.

#### II. Standards Committee membership

5. Under the rules of procedure of the Standards Committee (SC) members of that Committee shall serve two years with a maximum of six years. The intention is that only seven members are replaced every two years to ensure continuity. However, achieving this is dependent on the decisions of the FAO regions. There is no mechanism to prevent FAO regions from replacing all their SC members every two years. The practice of the Secretariat is to ask all FAO regions to either re-nominate current members that have served a two year term (but less than 6 years) or nominate a new member. All nominations are submitted to the ICPM for confirmation. The rules of procedure of the SC do not stipulate the method that FAO regions should use to select their SC nominations.

6. The current composition of the SC is given in Annex II-A.

7. Several members of the SC are ending their 2-year term at ICPM-7 in 2005 and, according to the current Rules of Procedures of the SC, have to be re-nominated or replaced. Even if the proposed revised Rules of Procedure for the SC provide for an increase in the terms of membership from 2 years to 3 years, the duration of existing 2-year terms will be unchanged (subject to the clarification in ICPM 2005/10). Consequently, the following 3 SC members should

For reasons of economy, this document is produced in a limited number of copies. Delegates and observers are kindly requested to bring it to the meetings and to refrain from asking for additional copies, unless strictly indispensable. Most FAO meeting documents are available on Internet at www.fao.org

be re-nominated or replaced: Abdellah Challaoui (Africa, Morocco), Ali Ibrahim Kamal Mahgoub (Near East, Sudan) and Gregory Wolff (North America, Canada).

8. In addition, ICPM-6 amended the number of Standards Committee members, as laid down in the Terms of Reference, as follows (per FAO region): Africa (4), Asia (4), Europe (4), Latin America and the Caribbean (4), Near East (4), North America (2), Southwest Pacific (3). As decided by ICPM-6, the five additional Standards Committee members were nominated by their respective regions (Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America, Caribbean, Near East) and invited to attend the November 2004 Standards Committee meeting as observers.

- 9. The ICPM is invited to:
  - 1. *Re-nominate* or *replace* the 3 Standards Committee members who are ending their term in 2005.
  - 2. Confirm the five additional Standards Committee members in Annex II-B.

# III. Subsidiary Body on Dispute Settlement membership

10. Under the rules of procedure members of the Subsidiary Body on Dispute Settlement (SBDS) members of that body shall serve a minimum of two years with a maximum of six years. The current members were appointed in 2004 and are in the first year of their first or second 2-year term. Terms on the subsidiary body on dispute settlement will expire only in 2006.

11. The current composition of the subsidiary body on dispute settlement is given in Annex III.

12. The ICPM is invited to *note* the information provided on the membership of the Subsidiary Body on Dispute Settlement.

Annex I

## **BUREAU OF THE ICPM**

# ICPM-5 (2003) - ICPM-7 (2005)

	Country	Name
Chairperson	Finland	Ralf LOPIAN
Vice-Chairperson	Mauritius	Maghespren CHINAPPEN
Vice-Chairperson	Uruguay	Felipe CANALE

Annex II

## MEMBERSHIP OF THE STANDARDS COMMITTEE

## A. CURRENT MEMBERS (AS CONFIRMED AT ICPM-6)

Term: ICPM-5 (2003) - ICPM-7 (2005)					
FAO Region	Country	Name	Status		
Africa	Morocco	Abdellah CHALLAOUI	1st term		
Near East	Sudan	Ali Ibrahim KAMAL MAHGOUB	1st term		
North America	Canada	Gregory WOLFF	1st term		

#### Term: ICPM-6 (2004) - ICPM-8 (2006)

FAO Region	Country	Name	Status
Africa	Nigeria	Gabriel Olayiwola ADEJARE	1st term
	Uganda	Robert KARYEIJA	1st term
Asia	China	Wang FUXIANG	2nd term
	India	Obbineni RAMALINGA REDDY	1st term
	Malaysia	Asna BOOTY OTHMAN	2nd term
Europe	EC	Marc VEREECKE	2nd term
	Germany	Jens-Georg UNGER	1st term
	Latvia	Ringolds ARNITIS	2nd term
Latin American	Brazil	Odilson RIBEIRO E SILVA	2nd term
and Caribbean	Costa Rica	Magda GONZÁLEZ ARROYO	1st term
	Peru	Alicia DE LA ROSA BRACHOWICZ	1st term
Near East	Jordan	Mohammad R. KATBEH BADER	2nd term
	Kuwait	Hasan SHARAF	1st term
North America	USA	Narcy KLAG	2nd term
Southwest Pacific	Australia	David PORRITT	1st term
	New Zealand	John HEDLEY	2nd term
	Tonga	Sione FOLIAKI	2nd term

### **B.** ADDITIONAL 5 MEMBERS NOMINATED BY REGIONS IN 2005

FAO Region	Country	Name
Africa	South Africa	Mike HOLTZHAUSEN
Asia	Japan	Motoi SAKAMURA
Europe	Israel	David OPATOWSKI
Latin America and Caribbean	Argentina	Diego QUIROGA
Near East	Iran	Alizadeh ALIABADI ALI

### Annex III

# CURRENT MEMBERSHIP OF THE SUBSIDIARY BODY ON DISPUTE SETTLEMENT

FAO Region	Country	Name	Status
Africa	Algeria	Ali MOUMEN	2nd term
Asia	Japan	Motoi SAKAMURA	1st term
Europe	Netherlands	Mennie GERRITSEN	2nd term
Latin America and Caribbean	Dominican Republic	Pedro Julio JIMÉNEZ ROJAS	1st term
Near East	Jordan	Mohammad R. KATBEH-BADER	2nd term
North American	USA	John GREIFER	2nd term
Southwest Pacific	New Zealand	John HEDLEY	2nd term

# Term: ICPM-6 (2004) - ICPM-8 (2006)