

联合国 منظمة الأغ 粮食及 农业组织

Food of the United Nations Organización

H

and Agriculture Organization des Nations de las Naciones Unies Unidas pour para la Agricultura l'alimentatior y la Alimentación l'agriculture

Organisation

COMMISSION ON PHYTOSANITARY MEASURES

Second Session

Rome, 26-30 March 2007

Composition of CPM Bureau and Subsidiary Bodies

Agenda Item 15 of the Provisional Agenda

I. **INTRODUCTION**

1. At its first session in 2006, the CPM elected a Bureau and established two subsidiary bodies, the Standards Committee and the Subsidiary Body on Dispute Settlement. CPM confirmed the membership for those subsidiary bodies. In addition, it confirmed potential replacements for members of the Standards Committee.

BUREAU OF THE CPM II.

2. The Rules of Procedure of the CPM (Rule II) requires the election of a Chairperson and not more than two Vice-Chair persons (the Bureau) at the end of the regular session of the CPM to hold office for a term of two years. The Bureau was elected at the end of CPM-1, and the next elections will be held at the end of CPM-3 in 2008. The composition of the Bureau is given in Annex 1.

STANDARDS COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP AND III. POTENTIAL REPLACEMENT

3. In 2006 one Standards Committee (SC) member failed to attend two consecutive SC meetings and another two members resigned. As a consequence, two SC members from the Africa and North America regions have been replaced by individuals previously confirmed by the CPM as potential replacement for their respective regions, and one potential replacement from the Near East region needs to be transferred to the SC. These new members will complete the existing terms of the SC member they are replacing. The current membership of the Standards Committee and the list of potential replacements are given in Annex 2-A and 2-B respectively.

For reasons of economy, this document is produced in a limited number of copies. Delegates and observers are kindly requested to bring it to the meetings and to refrain from asking for additional copies, unless strictly indispensable. Most FAO meeting documents are available on Internet at www.fao.org

4. Due to the transfer of potential replacements to the SC membership, there are now three vacant positions for potential replacements. Three regions (Africa, Near East and North America) may nominate one potential replacement each. In addition, in accordance with Rule 2 of the Rules of Procedures of the Standards Committee, FAO regions should also indicate the order in which potential replacements would serve as replacements. Letters have been sent to the Chairs of each of these three FAO regional groups requesting nominations be submitted to the IPPC Secretariat.

5. The CPM is invited to:

- 1. Note the current membership of the Standards Committee as shown in Annex 2-A and the potential replacements for the Standards Committee as shown in Annex 2-B.
- 2. *Confirm* new potential replacements, as appropriate;
- 3. *Confirm* the order in which potential replacements will be called upon for each region.

IV. SUBSIDIARY BODY ON DISPUTE SETTLEMENT MEMBERSHIP

6. Rule 2 of the Rules of Procedure of the Subsidiary Body on Dispute Settlement (SBDS) states that members of the Subsidiary Body on Dispute Settlement serve for terms of two years, with a maximum of six years. The SBDS membership was confirmed at CPM-1 in 2006, and is given in Annex 3.

7. Some modifications to the SBDS Rules of Procedure will be discussed under agenda item 12.2 (document CPM 2007/12). If the new rule regarding replacement of members is adopted, each FAO region may submit a nomination for a potential replacement for the SBDS.

- 8. The CPM is invited to:
 - 1. *Note* the current membership of the SBDS as shown in Annex 3;
 - 2. *Confirm* the new potential replacements, as appropriate depending on the outcome of discussions under agenda item 12.2.

Annex 1

COMPOSITION OF THE CPM BUREAU

Position	FAO region	Country	Name	Elected	End of term
Chair	Africa	Kenya	Chagema KEDERA	CPM-1 (2006)	2008
Vice-chair	North America	Canada	Reinouw BAST-TJEERDE	CPM-1 (2006)	2008
Vice-chair	Europe	Finland	Ralf LOPIAN	CPM-1 (2006)	2008

Annex 2

STANDARDS COMMITTEE: MEMBERSHIP AND POTENTIAL REPLACEMENTS

FAO region	Country	Name	Nominated	Current term / Duration	End of current term
Africa	Nigeria	Mr Gabriel Olayiwola ADEJARE	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
	South Africa	Mr Michael HOLTZHAUSEN	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
	Uganda	Mr Robert KARYEIJA	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
	Zambia	Mr Arundel SAKALA	CPM-1 (2006)	acting as replacement	2009
Asia	China	Mr Fuxiang WANG	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
	India	Mr Prabhakar CHANDURKAR	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
	Japan	Mr Motoi SAKAMURA	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
	Malaysia	Mr Mazlan SAADON	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
Europe	European Commission	Mr Marc VEREECKE	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
	Germany	Mr Jens-Georg UNGER	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
	Israel	Mr David OPATOWSKI	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
	Latvia	Mr Ringolds ARNITIS	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
Latin America and Caribbean	Argentina	Mr Diego QUIROGA	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
	Barbados	Mr Michael PHILIP	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
	Brazil	Mr Odilson RIBEIRO E SILVA	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
	Costa Rica	Ms Magda GONZALEZ	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
Near East	Jordan	Mr Mohammad KATBEH-BADER	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
	Sudan	Mr Khidir GIBRIL MUSA	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
	Yemen	Mr Abdullah AL-SAYANI	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
	VACANT	One potential replacement to be transferred - To be decided			
North	Canada	Mr Gregory WOLFF	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
America	USA	Ms Julie ALIAGA	CPM-1 (2006)	acting as replacement	2009
Southwest	Australia	Mr David PORRITT	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
Pacific	New Zealand	Mr John HEDLEY	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
	Tonga	Mr Sione FOLIAKI	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009

A-Standards Committee Membership

Annex 2 (cont.)

FAO region	Order (to be completed during CPM-2)	Country	Name	Nominated	Current term / Duration	End of current term
Africa		Senegal	Mr Mame Ndene LO	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
		VACANT				
Asia		Indonesia	Mr Dwi PUTRA SETIAWAN	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
		Thailand	Mr Udorn UNAHAWUTTI	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
Europe	1	Denmark	Mr Ebbe NORDBO	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
	2	Netherlands	Mr Bram DE HOOP	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
Latin America and Caribbean		Guatemala	Mr Jaime SOSA LEMMUS	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
		Uruguay	Ms Beatriz MELCHO	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
Near East		Syria	Mr Mohammad Jamal HAJJAR	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
		Turkey	Mr Birol AKBAS	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
North America	to replace Canada	Canada	Mr Steve CÔTÉ	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
		VACANT	•			
Southwest		New Zealand	Mr Gavin EDWARDS	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009
Pacific		Papua New Guinea	Mr Roy MASAMDU	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 3 years	2009

B- Standards Committee Potential Replacements

Annex 3

SUBSIDIARY BODY ON DISPUTE SETTLEMENT MEMBERSHIP

FAO region	Country	Name	Nominated	Current term / Duration	End of current term
Africa	Algeria	Mr Ali MOUMEN	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 2 years	2008
Asia	Korea, Republic of	Mr Young-Chul JEONG	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 2 years	2008
Europe	Netherlands	Ms Mennie GERRITSEN	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 2 years	2008
Latin America and Caribbean	Dominican Republic	Mr Pedro Julio JIMÉNEZ ROJAS	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 2 years	2008
Near East	Jordan	Mr Mohammad KATBEH- BADER	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 2 years	2008
North America	USA	Mr John GREIFER	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 2 years	2008
Southwest Pacific	New Zealand	Mr John HEDLEY	CPM-1 (2006)	1st term / 2 years	2008