



منظمة الأغذية والزراعة للأمم لا المتحدة

联合国 粮食及 农业组织 Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations

Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'alimentation et l'agriculture

сельскохозяйственная организация Объединенных Наций

Продовольственная и

Organización de las Naciones Unidas para la Alimentación y la Agricultura E

COMMISSION ON PHYTOSANITARY MEASURES

Seventh Session

Rome, 19-23 March 2012

Election of the Bureau

Agenda item 16 of the Provisional Agenda

1. At its second session in 2007, the CPM adopted an amendment to its Rules of Procedure as follows:

"RULE II - OFFICERS

1. The Commission shall elect a Chairperson, not more than two Vice-Chairpersons and other persons from among the delegates to form a Bureau of seven persons, so that each FAO region is represented. The Commission shall elect a rapporteur for each regular session from among the delegates. No delegate shall be eligible for election without the concurrence of the respective head of delegation. The Bureau shall be elected under FAO Rules and Regulations at the end of a regular CPM session and shall hold office for a term of two years. The Chairperson, or in the absence of the Chairperson, a Vice-Chairperson, shall preside at all meetings of the Commission and shall exercise such other functions as may be required to facilitate the work of the Commission. A Vice-Chairperson acting as a Chairperson shall have the same powers and duties as the Chairperson. The purpose of the Bureau is to provide guidance to the CPM on the strategic direction, financial and operational management of its activities in cooperation with others as approved by CPM."

2. CPM-7 (2012) must elect a new Bureau. The new Bureau shall consist of a Chairperson, two Vice-Chairpersons and four additional members in such a way that all FAO regions are represented in the Bureau. The term of the new Bureau will start immediately after CPM-7 (2012) and will end at the conclusion of CPM-9 in 2014.

3. Annex 1 shows the names and FAO regions of the persons who have held positions in the Bureau since the inception of the CPM (formerly the Interim Commission on Phytosanitary Measures).

4. Rule II.1 makes clear that <u>a person can only be elected to the Bureau if he/she is present at</u> the session of the CPM where the election takes place.

This document is printed in limited numbers to minimize the environmental impact of FAO's processes and contribute to climate neutrality. Delegates and observers are kindly requested to bring their copies to meetings and to avoid asking for additional copies. Most FAO meeting documents are available on the Internet at www.fao.org

5. The elections will take place in separate stages, as the Chairperson and Vice-Chairpersons will be elected first and then the remainder of the Bureau will be elected from FAO regions not represented by the Chairperson and Vice-Chairpersons.

- 6. The CPM is invited to:
 - 1) *Elect* the Chairperson and Vice-Chairpersons for the Bureau 2012-2014
 - 2) *Elect* four members of the Bureau from FAO regions not represented by the Chairperson and Vice-Chairpersons.

Annex 1

Year elected	Name	Country	FAO Region
1998 (ICPM-1)	Mr John Hedley, Chair	New Zealand	Southwest Pacific
	Mr Orlando Morales, Vice Chair	Chile	Latin America and the Caribbean
	Mr Radhey Shyan, Vice Chair	India	Asia
2001 (ICPM-3)	Mr Felipe Canale, Chair	Uruguay	Latin America and the Caribbean
	Mr John Hedley, Vice Chair	New Zealand	Southwest Pacific
	Mr Ralf Lopian, Vice Chair	Finland	Europe
2003 (ICPM-5)	Mr Ralf Lopian, Chair	Finland	Europe
	Mr Felipe Canale, Vice Chair	Uruguay	Latin America and the Caribbean
	Mr Maghespren Chinappen, Vice Chair	Mauritius	Africa
2005 (ICPM-7)	Mr Chagema Kedera, Chair	Kenya	Africa
	Mr Ralf Lopian, Vice Chair	Finland	Europe
	Ms Reinouw Bast-Tjeerde, Vice Chair	Canada	North America
2006 (CPM-1)	Mr Chagema Kedera, Chair	Kenya	Africa
	Mr Ralf Lopian, Vice Chair	Finland	Europe
	Ms Reinouw Bast-Tjeerde, Vice Chair	Canada	North America
2008 (CPM-3)	Ms Reinouw Bast-Tjeerde, Chair	Canada	North America
	Mr Chagema Kedera, Vice Chair	Kenya	Africa
	Mr Mohammad Katbeh-Bader, Vice Chair	Jordan	Near East
	Mr Steve Ashby, member	United Kingdom	Europe
	Mr Arifin Tasrif, member	Indonesia	Asia
	Mr Francisco Gutierrez, member	Belize	Latin America and the Caribbean
	Mr Bill Roberts, member	Australia	Southwest Pacific
2010 (CPM-5)	Mr Mohammad Katbeh-Bader, Chair	Jordan	Near East
	Mr Steve Ashby, Vice Chair	United Kingdom	Europe
	Ms Kyu-Ock Kim, Vice Chair	Republic of Korea	Asia
	Mr Francisco Gutierrez, member	Belize	Latin America and the Caribbean
	Mr John Greifer, member	United States	North America
	Mr Arundel Sakala, member	Zambia	Africa
	Mr John Hedley, member	New Zealand	Southwest Pacific

Persons who have held positions in the Bureau since the inception of the CPM