

January 2014



Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'alimentation et l'agriculture

Продовольственная и сельскохозяйственная организация Объединенных Наций Organización de las Naciones Unidas para la Alimentación y la Agricultura منظمة الأغذية والزراعة للأمم المتحدة

COMMISSION ON PHYTOSANITARY MEASURES

Ninth Session Rome, 31 March - 4 April 2014 Election of the CPM Bureau and Bureau Replacements Agenda item 18 Prepared by IPPC Secretariat

1. CPM-8 (2013) amended the CPM Rules of Procedure as follows¹:

Excerpt from Rule II of the CPM Rules of Procedure (Officers):

"The Commission shall elect a Chairperson, a Vice-Chairperson and other persons from among the delegates to form a Commission Bureau of seven persons, so that each FAO region is represented. The Commission shall elect a rapporteur for each regular session from among the delegates. No delegate shall be eligible without the concurrence of the respective head of delegation. The Commission Bureau shall be elected under the FAO Rules and Regulations at the end of a regular session and shall hold office for a term of two years. Subject to the agreement of the region concerned, an individual member shall be eligible for re-election for another two consecutive terms. In exceptional circumstances, an FAO region may submit a request to the CPM for an exception to allow a member to serve an additional term(s). The Chairperson, or in the absence of the Chairperson, a Vice-Chairperson, shall preside at all meetings of the Commission and shall exercise such other functions as may be required to facilitate the work of the Commission. A Vice-Chairperson acting as a Chairperson shall have the same powers and duties as the Chairperson. The purpose of the Commission Bureau is to provide guidance to the Commission on the strategic direction, financial and operational management of its activities in cooperation with others as approved by the Commission."

2. CPM-8 (2013) agreed Rules of Procedure for the CPM Bureau, which constitutes an annex to the CPM Rules of Procedure. These include the following:

¹ CPM-8 (2013) report: https://www.ippc.int/core-activities/governance/cpm

2 CPM 2014/12

Excerpt from Rule 4 of the Rules of Procedure for the CPM Bureau (Replacement of members):

"FAO regions shall nominate replacements for members of the Bureau and submit them to the CPM for election. Replacements should be eligible to be members as set forth in these Rules. Each FAO region shall select a maximum of two replacements for CPM election. If a member of the Bureau, other than the Chairperson, becomes unavailable for a meeting their respective replacement may substitute them during that specific meeting. If a member of the Bureau becomes unavailable on a long term basis, for unavoidable reasons, resigns or no longer meets the qualifications required for being member of the Bureau, the replacement will substitute the member of the Bureau for the remainder of the term of office for which s/he has been elected. The replacement should be from the same region as the member of the Bureau being replaced."

3. In addition, CPM-8 (2013) endorsed Guidelines for Rotation of the CPM Chairperson and Vice Chairperson and Nomination of Bureau:

Excerpts from the Guidelines for Rotation of the CPM Chairperson and Vice Chairperson and Nomination of Bureau:

"The Chairperson of the Commission on Phytosanitary Measures will be rotated among the seven (7) FAO regions in the following sequence: Asia, Southwest Pacific, Latin America and the Caribbean, Africa, North America, Near East and Europe, followed by a grouping that would include only the four (4) largest regions (those regions with the largest number of countries): Asia, Latin America and the Caribbean, Europe, Africa, and then followed by the first seven listed above, and so forth. The rotation scheme would thus be: 7-4-7-4.

"Following the rotation scheme identified above, the region which is next in line for occupying the position of the Chairperson will propose a candidate for the Vice-Chairperson. In the following term the region occupying the position of the Vice-Chairperson will propose a candidate for the position of the Chairperson.

"The candidates for Bureau membership (including Chairperson and Vice-Chairpersons) should be employed by an NPPO.

"Candidates for Chairperson should have served for at least one term (two years) in the Bureau.

"It may be desirable that the Chairperson has served previously as a Vice-Chairperson."

- 4. CPM-9 (2014) will be the first session under which the new guidelines will be in use.
- 5. CPM-9 (2014) must elect a new CPM Bureau because the two-year term of the current Chair, Vice-Chairpersons and other Bureau members will finish at the end of the CPM-9 meeting. The new CPM Bureau shall consist of a Chairperson, a Vice-Chairperson and any additional members in such a way that all FAO regions are represented in the Bureau. The term of the new Bureau will start immediately after CPM-9 and will end at the conclusion of CPM-11 in 2016.
- 6. Annex 1 shows the names of the current CPM Bureau and FAO regions, which they represent, along with the length of their terms.
- 7. Rule II of the CPM Rules of Procedure makes clear that <u>a person can only be elected to the Bureau if he/she is present at the session of the CPM where the election takes place</u>. In addition, the person must have agreement from his/her head of delegation to be elected.
- 8. The elections will take place in separate stages, as the Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson will be elected first and then the remainder of the CPM Bureau will be elected from those FAO regions not represented by the Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson.
- 9. According to Rule 4 of the Rules of Procedure for the CPM Bureau (Replacement of members), CPM- 9 (2014) also needs to elect replacement members for the Bureau and each FAO region should be prepared to nominate such replacements at the start of the first plenary session, so that the elections can be completed during CPM-9 (2014). All nominations should be submitted by each region through the mechanism established for each region or through the Chair of the FAO regional group. The deadline for submission of nominations to the IPPC Secretariat (ippc@fao.org) is

CPM 2014/12 3

3 March 2014. Nominations should be accompanied by the signed Statement of Commitment, available on the IPP².

- 10. The CPM is invited to:
 - 1) *elect* the Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson for the CPM Bureau.
 - 2) *elect* members for the CPM Bureau from FAO regions not represented by the Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson.
 - 3) *elect* replacements for members of the CPM Bureau.

_

² Please download the Statement of Commitment at https://www.ippc.int/core-activities/governance/ippc-procedure-manual

4 CPM 2014/12

Current membership of the Bureau of the CPM – January 2014

FAO region	Country	Name	Nominated / Renominated	Current term / Duration	End of current term
Africa	Cote D'Ivoire	Mr. Lucien KOUAME	CPM-2 (2012)	1st Term/2 years	2014
Asia	Republic of Korea	Ms. Kyu-Ock YIM	CPM-5 (2010) CPM-7 (2012)	2nd term / 2 years	2014
Europe	United Kingdom	Mr. Steve ASHBY Chairperson	CPM-3 (2008) CPM-5 (2010) CPM-7 (2012)	3rd term / 2 years	2014
Latin America and Caribbean	Belize	Mr. Francisco Adrian GUTIERREZ Vice-chairperson	CPM-3 (2008) CPM-5 (2010) CPM-7 (2012)	3rd term / 2 years	2014
Near East	Jordan	Mr. Mohammad KATBEH BADER Vice chairperson	CPM 3 (2008) CPM-5 (2010) CPM-7 (2012)		2014
North America	USA	Mr. John GREIFER	CPM-5 (2010) CPM-7 (2012)	2nd term / 2 years	2014
Southwest Pacific	New Zealand	Mr. Peter THOMSON	CPM-8 (2013)*	1st term / 2 years	2014

^{*}Mr. Thomson was selected by CPM-8 (2013) to complete the term of Ms. Lois Ransom who resigned her membership in 2013.